Ba Gua Zhang

Lu Jia Qiang Shan Ba Gua Zhang Association

Lu Jia Qiang Shan Ba Gua Zhang Kung Fu

At Longevity Healing Arts we offer classes in traditional Kung Fu which promote health and wellness, and a sense of community.

Ba Gua Zhang, is one of the primary internal systems of the Chinese martial arts – the others being Tai Ji Quan and Xing Yi Quan. Ba Gua, at its best, integrates :

  • Health – Qi Gong, Meditation and Breathing

  • Self-Defense – Physical conditioning, scientifically based self-defense principles and weaponry into a complete and comprehensive martial discipline. Perhaps best known for its distinctive “circle walking” training methods.

Ba Gua is also renowned for its:

  • highly evasive footwork

  • powerful palm strikes

  • snake-like body movements

  • lightning-fast combinations

In the Ba Gua of Lu Shui-Tian, it is recognized that skill in self-defense provides little without health because, without health, skill will not last. Also, health without skill in self-defense is not martial art, and provides few options should a physical confrontation arise. Both elements are essential to the full and complete development of any martial arts practitioner.

In addition, the philosophy and principles forming the basis of the Ba Gua of Lu Shui-Tian are derived directly from nature. As such, they are rooted in the real world, and are governed by the laws of physics and human physiology. They are not gifts from the gods, nor are they based on magic or mysticism. Anyone with proper instruction and training can learn this art.

Lu Shui-Tian emphasized the significance of sound principles as the basis of any high level martial art. In particular, he stressed the importance of the Trinity Concept Principle. The trinity concept was identified as the key to the strength and flexibility of Ba Gua. There are many trinities in Ba Gua; however, the first and foremost trinity, the fundamental trinity, the trinity that forms the foundation of the Ba Gua of Lu Shui-Tian consists of:

  • The Principle of Yin and Yang

  • The Principle of the Five Elements or Phases

  • The Principle of Change (from the Book of Changes or I Ching)